Guardians of Culture and Lifeways Awards at the 2018 ATALM Annual Conference


In this video, Wendy G. Teeter, Curator of Archaeology at the Fowler Museum at University of California, Los Angeles, accepts the Honored One Award at the 2018 ATALM annual conference. Shannon Martin, NAGPRA Designee and Director of the Ziibiwing Center of Anishinabe Culture and Lifeways, accepts the Leadership Award. Avis Kuuipoleialoha Poai, Director of Legal History, Archives, and Student Outreach at the Ka Huli Ao Center for Excellence in Native Hawaiian Law, accepts the Archives Institutional Excellence Award. Aaron LaFromboise, Director of Library Service at Blackfeet Community College, accepts the Library Institutional Excellence Award. Blake Norton, Program Archivist at the Citizen Potawatomi Nation Cultural Heritage Center, accepts the Museum Institutional Excellence Award. Stacy S. Coon, Assistant Director of Oneida Nation Museum, accepts the Outstanding Project Award. Maureen Matthews, Curator of Cultural Anthropology at the Manitoba Museum, accepts the Outstanding Project/Non-Native Organization Award. Walter Echo-Hawk, Author, Attorney and ATALM Chairman of the Board, sings a song honoring Guardians of Culture and Lifeways Award recipients at the ATALM annual conference held in Prior Lake, Minnesota, on October 8-11, 2018.